top of page
Search
  • ajernigan1989

Learning Contributions

When I decided to pursue my master’s, I began a leadership technology course. I quickly switched when I realized the leadership portion was not my passion, but instead I wanted to focus on technology within education. I begin this course full of excitement at the thought of being able to learn though the COVA model. My excitement soon diminished as I struggled to balance my academic pursuits, professional commitments, motherhood, and my own physical and mental health. The ability to manage all these necessities proved to be challenging as I lacked structure. This resulted in occasional late submissions necessitating the need for a solid schedule to improve my task management.


While I attempted to introduce myself and engage with a group of peers, I fell short in actively participating. I believe in part; this is due to a lack of confidence in my abilities. The self-doubt was a disservice to myself. Increased collaboration could have alleviated some of the struggles I had throughout several of my assignments.


Despite the setbacks, I’ve gained quite a bit from 5302 and 5305.  While one course focused on teaching me about growth mindsets and the importance of innovation, the other allowed me to plan for change. I was able to utilize the knowledge learned in 5302 to help me to reflect on my mindset, providing grounding when I was challenged. I made sure to follow along and stay aware of discussions had within the collaborative groups. In addition, I participated in blackboard discussions by creating well thought out posts and responding to my peers. I shared assignments in hopes of receiving feedforward and made necessary changes towards improvement. In addition, changes suggested after submission were made to further improve the documents, I’d created to share my blended learning initiative. I’ve attended all zoom meetings or rewatched the recordings in both courses. I stumbled upon valuable information in the course readings, videos, and resources provided. As a visual learner I thrived with being able to see examples to better understand what was expected of me. So many of the resources provided will be a valuable reference beyond this program.


Moving forward, I aim to engage more actively with peers to enhance my learning experience. I’d like to initiate a short zoom to meet peers that I can collaborate with for the remainder of the program and set up meeting dates to touch base and check in before assignments are due. I believe I can gain valuable insight from the perspective of others through collaboration and support for one another throughout our academic journey.


I plan to utilize a planner to organize my coursework and establish a structured schedule for completing assignments. This will help to manage my time effectively and ensure that I dedicate ample focus to each task.  By embracing these strategies, I am confident that I will create a more enriching and rewarding learning experience for myself and those around me.


Upon reflecting on my key and supporting contributions, I recognize significant opportunities for improving my engagement in self-directed learning. My underestimation of the value of my contributions has hindered my progress. As a result, I would rate my performance at 70 out of 100 for 5302 and 35 out of 50 for 5305.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

5317-Compilation Post

Within my innovation proposal, the primary objective is to establish a blended learning environment by incorporating technology. My focus...

Коментарі


bottom of page